Stefanie Japel

Stefanie Japel is teaching A New Look at Color through Embellishment and Open Knitting Lab at the Makerie. As for the Makerie Market, we couldn’t be more excited to see what Stefanie brings to compel us to knit. Her patterns and books are sure to be nothing short of amazing!

– – –

I learned to knit from my grandma when I was 8 years old. I’ve grown up wearing her sweaters and borrowing the ones she made for other people. Most of these sweaters are raglans, knit in the round from the top. I continue this sweater-making tradition. I’ve published over 120 knitting patterns, mostly for top-down knits, and am known for my use of vibrant color and my shapely, feminine designs.

My work has appeared in a number of books and publications including Big Girl Knits, Stitch N Bitch Nation, KnitGrrl, Knit Wit, Not Another Teen Knitting Book, Interweave Knits, Knitscene, Knit.1, and Vogue Knitting Magazine.

I’m the author of two knitting books, Fitted Knits and Glam Knits (F+W Media). I’m currently working on my third knitting book, Mother Daughter Knits, with Chronicle Books, to be released in Spring 2012, and a fourth, Top Down Design, to be published by Cooperative Press. http://stefaniejapel.com/

