Mary Katz of Flora Fauna is a veteran Firefly and maker. She is the perfect addition to our spring line up …

Spring is my favorite season!  I love to hear the birds singing and see the flowers blooming.  I start thinking about gardening, bird watching and hanging out in the woods.  My soft-sculptured creatures are lovingly made by hand.  The latest birds and fish are made to look as much like the real thing as possible, considering that they all involve re-purposed thrift shop fabrics.  I’m also making some wonderful new appliqued bags that are all about the Farmer’s Market.  I’ve been sewing and crafting most of my life, using the skills my grandmother taught me as a base and taking off from there.  I experiment with new techniques all the time and enjoy that part of the design process that begins with the question “How can I make it look like that?”.  Thrift shopping also inspires me – I see clothing and other unique items and brainstorm about how I can use them in my work.

